URL: http://forum.tnbcfoundation.org/forum_posts.asp?TID=7206
Printed Date: Mar 28 2024 at 12:52pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Recovery time for double mastectomy
Posted By: tomc
Subject: Recovery time for double mastectomy
Date Posted: Oct 01 2010 at 10:38pm
Hello Again,
My wife Connie is having a double mastectomy next Friday the 8th of October.  I am wondering about recovery times and how the first couple days go.  My plan is to take the following week off to make sure things are OK and at that time her folks will move in for a week or so so I can go to work.  How long until she can move around? How long of a hospital stay will it be? She is also having expanders put in.  Thanks in advance!
Tom

Replies:
Posted By: TNBC_in_NS
Date Posted: Oct 01 2010 at 10:51pm
Hey Tom & Connie!
I am not experienced with this (yet), but I am sure some of our members will be dropping by with all the information you need to get through this part of the journey. 

I remembered a few things and told Connie what to sort of expect and what I noticed others found useful.  I will find the post and re-post it here for you.  Sounds like you have everything under control! That is a good thing!

How are you doing, my brother???? How are you feeling, my brother????
Your sister on the journey, Helen in NS

Found it:
I am not a mx person, yet so I can't comment from experience but the ladies that have posted have mentioned the lazy boy chair as being their best friend in the first couple of weeks due to getting up and down from the horizontal position. Denise just had her's done so she will probably pop in soon and give you a detail of all the things she encountered. By the way, Denise is doing her yoga and things around the house and she is only two weeks out of surgery! She is definitely the one to talk with!