FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Chemo finished

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
GRANNY View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GRANNY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Chemo finished
    Posted: Sep 03 2009 at 6:29pm
Big%20smileI can not believe chemo is over.  Last dose 08-31-09 slight set back now I have steriod induced diabetes.  Hopefully this will pass soon.  My blood sugar came down to 222 at noon today.  Yesterday I had 20 units insulin and today only 16 units hopefully tomorrow it will be better.  They have also had to start me on 40mg lasix for fluid retention.  Do not be frightened I had a severe reaction to the chemo so steriods iv and oral steriods had to be given.  (Taxorene reaction)  Now if I can just get off the insulin and lasix I can save some extra expense.  ( and sticking myself with needles)  It is a good thing I am a nurse but needles still hurt.  I also have had a open and draining wound to my right breast since 6-5-09 and tonight no drainage the spot has no opening!!!!!!  I have a small cyst next to where the open area is it will be ultrasounded but I feel it just needs to absorb.  I had my genitic testing BRAC 1 and 2 testing done Friday no results yet.  The testing place in California will battle it out with the insurance company before running the blood.  The cost is 3,600.00 is that normal or does anyone know?  I meet with the radiation onocolgist 09-09-09 The surgeon had said it would be 5 to 6 weeks of radiation I am really interested to hear what the radiation onocolgist says.   Anyone who would like to give me there input on what to expect from radiation it would be appreciated.  Wonderful news on the home front Our fourth grandchild arrived on 08-22-09 at 722pm 6lbs 10oz and 19 inches long  named Avery Jane.  She is our 3rd grandaughter and we have one grandson.  We feel so blessed.    God Blessing to all Julia Pink%20Ribbon