Go To Main TNBC Website

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Starting TAC chemo - anyone else choose TAC?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AnnL View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AnnL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Starting TAC chemo - anyone else choose TAC?
    Posted: May 24 2017 at 12:39am
Hi, everyone! This is my first time posting, but I've loved reading all of your posts. Tomorrow I have my first of six TAC treatments, and I can't sleep since I can't stop thinking about it. It seems most of you have the 4 weeks of AC followed by four weeks of T. My oncologist recommended this for me as my best option even though she feels it's tough to handle. If it's too much, I can try a different regimen. I have Stage 1 with no lymph node involvement, but due to the size of the tumor and the fact that it had multiple places where it was invasive, chemotherapy is advised. I had a unilateral mastectomy five weeks ago. Can some of you tell me why you did or didn't choose TAC?

I work full time, but am fortunate that my children are grown and I have an incredibly supportive husband. I cut my hair super short last week and dyed it plum! I love it so much that once it grows back, I'm keeping it short and plum!

I'm feeling worried that I chose the unilateral even though an MRI showed no cancer in the other breast. Triple negative is just so scary that I want to do everything I can to fight it, and I hope I didn't make a mistake by not choosing a bilateral.

I would just appreciate advice from any others who chose TAC as well as words of encouragement. I feel like this is when it's finally sinking in that I'm battling cancer! It's hard to remember what life was like before I was diagnosed, and harder to imagine a life where I no longer think about cancer 24/7.

Sorry for the long post, but I just need to hear from people who can understand what I'm feeling - thanks for listening!