Go To Main TNBC Website

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Residual Cancer Burden

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
MrsBraly View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrsBraly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Residual Cancer Burden
    Posted: Jun 06 2016 at 10:49am
This is my first time posting, although I have been lurking on this site since my diagnosis in November 2015.  Two days before my 50th birthday,( Happy Birthday!) I was diagnosed with a 2.5 cm TN tumor,  Grade 3, KI67 at 87.  I had a sentinel node biopsy that showed my nodes were clear.  I elected to do a double-blind trial of Velaparib and Carboplatin in addition to neoadjuvant chemo of 12 weekly Taxol and 4 bi-weekly A/C.  My tumor initially shrank but began to grow again on the Taxol.  My MRI between chemos showed my tumor at 3.5cm and it has remained stable throughout my A/C.  I will have a bi-lateral on Friday.  My question is,  are there any other ladies out there that had residual cancer in their tumors after surgery and did you do any other treatment after?  I will not be having radiation,  my oncologists says because I'm having a double mastectomy that will be removing all tissue.  I'm just having a really hard time knowing that the chemo really didn't work for me and I'm afraid. 

DX 11/20/15, Age 49, IDC-TNBC Stage IIb Gr 3, 2.4cm, ki-67 87% BRCA- 12 weekly Taxol and 4 bi-weekly A/C completed 5/9/16 BI-MX and beginning of recon 6/10/16.
KK1722 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KK1722 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun 06 2016 at 11:59am
Hi Mrs. Braly,

Welcome to the forum, although I'm sorry you find yourself here at all. I find it helps to communicate with others sharing similar circumstances.