Go To Main TNBC Website

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New to TNBC

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ScorpioMom View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ScorpioMom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New to TNBC
    Posted: Feb 05 2014 at 8:47pm
Hello All... 
 I am new to TNBC... but not new to Breast Cancer....  In July of last year I found a very small lump... I did not go into panic mode over it possibly being cancer... in fact, with Cancer of any kind never being mentioned anywhere in my family, it was the farthest thing from my mind... I was 45 at the time and knowing that woman go into menopause differently... and can start then back out of it... I was leaning towards this being a pre-menopause cyst....  so I watched it closely... it started to get bigger... so researched more and more... when I read that some cysts would get so big that they would not go away on their own... I made the doctor appointment to have it drained...
The doctor drained out blood... he said he didn't think it was a cyst... he thought it was a hematoma... I'm thiking to myself at that point... how the hell does one rupture a blood vessel in their boob.... 2 days later it filled with blood again... at that point he ordered a biopsy... They took 4 core samples and low and behold all 4 samples came back positive for cancer.... I was in complete disbelief....  then he explains to me that it's a triple negative cancer and very aggressive... which of course scared me even more....  I kept telling myself... I am too young to die  and I have too much left to do to die.... 
I then went to a cancer center with all my records, pathology, mammogram images etc...  Same diagnosis... so we came up with a game plan.... 
I went through 5 rounds of harsh chemo from Sept to Dec.... 4.5 hrs each consisting of Cytoxan, Doxorubicin, Taxotere followed up the next day with a Neulasta shot in the arm...