Go To Main TNBC Website

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Inconclusive CT Scan

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ryleigh0605 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ryleigh0605 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Inconclusive CT Scan
    Posted: Jul 22 2009 at 10:37pm
Good Morning

Since I am new at this:

Can anyone tell what an "Inconclusive CT Scan" means?  The oncologist has ordered another scan.  He said that they did not get everything.  He only put abs and he wanted the pelvic area also.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so very much.
Diana, mother of 2, grandmother of 3
dx 8/07
IDC with medullary features, 1.87cm grade 3, stage 1, 1 node-neg, BRCA neg, Biateral 9/07, ACx4
SagePatientAdvocates View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SagePatientAdvocates Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul 23 2009 at 7:13am
Dear Diana,

I don't mean to be unhelpful but I think you should go back to your oncologist with your questions. I assume (always dangerous to do) that he ordered the CT scan for a reason...what was it? did he order the scan with/without contrast? Are you being seen at a NCI Comprehensive Care Center? if not, do you have access to one for a second opinion?

I just had a CT scan of my Kidney, Ureter, Bladder because of persistent hematuria. I know I have kidney stones (the scan found three) but they were trying to rule out cancer. I was told that a CT scan was better to find the stones than an MRI but the MRI can be useful at other times...

Please try to get your physician to explain to you, COMPLETELY, why he is ordering the tests...and if the first scan was "inconclusive" are there other tests(MRI, PET SCAN) than can help? if you do not get an explanation that satisfies you I would try to get a second opinion.