FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Chemo protocol

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ddspain View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ddspain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Chemo protocol
    Posted: Apr 14 2013 at 6:38pm
Wink
So Does anyone know if 3X- breast cancer has a default protocol chemo treatment ?
Ive had only one meeting with the oncologist and I think that was what he was telling me.
I kind of blanked out a little when he hit me with the triple negative. It came as a big surprise.

I am just learning....
But I know I will be starting soon. Was hoping to gather some knowledge before I start.

Thanks !
D
right mastectomy 3-20-13.
1.5 cm
grade 3 tumor
nodes clear
awaiting chemo
arabella View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote arabella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Apr 14 2013 at 9:48pm
Hi ddspain!

I'm not sure if there is a default protocol....I'm not sure what all they  look at to figure out what you as an individual will be given.    Wish we were tested according to TNBC subtype and that they did in fact know which worked best on what subtype and all.  Hopefully one day that will be the way it is.

My diagnosis is similar to yours....1.1 cm, clean margins, stage 1 (mine was graded 1 as well but I've questioned the grade 1 because that seems so inconsistent with TNBC, but oncs (I consulted with 3) didn't let that phase them) and my nodes were negative.  

Anyway, the chemo that was suggested was Taxotere and Cytoxan, one onc said 4 rounds, but then my present onc said 4 rounds and 2 more for insurance so to speak as that is what M.D. Anderson's protocol was at present for me.

Hope this helps you a little and the very best of luck to you!

Kaye
Dx TNBC 1/2013; age 63; 1.1 cm; Stage 1, Grade 1(?); lumpectomy clear margins; ALND -; severe SEs to first TC and treatment stopped; radsX25; BRCA -
Recur 6/2015 Mastectomy