Go To Main TNBC Website

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A newbie here

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
IamRoseC View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IamRoseC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A newbie here
    Posted: Oct 12 2007 at 8:57pm
Hi!

My name is Rose.  I'm 49.  I was diagnosed with triple-negative breast cancer in October '05.  It came as quite a shock, as I'm sure you all already know!  There is no history of cancer of any kind in either side of my family.  I am not sure if I am a stage two or three, I do know that the tumor was a grade 3, and that they removed 17 lymph nodes, two of which were positive.  One of the cancerous lymph nodes was 4.2cm, while the tumor itself was 1.3cm.  (It seems kinda odd that a lymph node can have more cancer in it than the tumor did, but then again, I'm not an oncologist!)  I had 4 courses of AC every two weeks, followed by 35 radiation sessions, followed by 4 courses of taxol.  That all finished up in September '06.   So, my math says I'm 13 months out of treatment...lol.  All followup testing has come back clean, so far. 

I share the frustration than I'm sure many of you feel when I discovered that the prognosis was poorer for us triple-negative types than for the hormone-sensitive varieties. 

I feel that all the chemo and radiation and surgeries really kicked me in the you-know-what.  The difficulties I have experienced since treatment finished has been this deep, extreme fatigue and chemobrain.  The last month has seen the beginnings of noticeable improvement in both.  So, I'm hopeful that those two are beginning to fade.